Upcycled Frame to Tray

Upcycle Frame to Tray

Wow I can’t believe I haven’t posted anything since Christmas! Yikes! Well, things have been a little crazy around here in the last few months and my motivation has been non-existent, but it’s time I get back into some craft therapy. I’m not sure how I did this, but a few months back I somehow convinced hubby to make me a coffee table and it turned out fantastic! I love it so much, but it has woken up this project monster in me that is driving hubs crazy. Here is how the table turned out:
DIY Coffee Table

We (and by that I mean my hubby) built this from Ana-White’s plans. Once the table was done I had to make something to go on top, right? Well, I purchased a wood tray from Michael’s and painted it, distressed it and lined the inside with Scrapbooking paper and I was happy with how turned out, but the size proportions with the table was off and I didn’t like the combination.

Small Tray

I decided I was going to just build a larger tray, but I wanted to get the size right so I took an old frame I had in the basement and I used it to test out the size I had in mind.

Size test

I was happy with the size and as I started to make a list for the wood I would need, I took another look and decided to just turn the frame into a tray. So, I sanded the frame, gave it a base coat of brown, added some wood glue and Vaseline to it (my favorite distressing techniques), waited for it to dry and then gave it a final coat of white. I sanded it and then took my heat gun to the areas that had the wood glue to make it bubble and peal, I like the effect it gives me. frame

I added some burlap to go behind the  glass, I decided not to attach it permanently since I liked the idea of adding a different fabric during the holidays.  I added some handles made with some framing wire, rope and the wood from some old sponge brushes and attached them to the frame with upholstery tags.

Tray Handles

I really love how it turned out! Here is another look at it.

Upcycle Frame to Tray 2
Tray with handle

Upcycle Frame to Tray

Upcycle Frame to Tray

Upcycle Frame to Tray

Thanks for stopping by!

Love,

Beca

So excited and honored to be featured at:

Linking up at:

Young House Love
The Rustic Pig
Home Stories A2Z

DIY Show Off TitiCrafty by Camila Liz Marie Blog

About Creative Dominican

Hi There! Thanks for stopping by. I'm Beca and I'm a wife, a mom, a web designer and crafter. I love to create things! It's a way for me to relax and remember my mother who was the most creative and talented person I have ever met. Hugs, Beca

9 responses »

  1. I like that .

    Reply
  2. Cool! Welcome back to blogging! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I love how your projects turn out! You have a great talent!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Tell Me Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

