Pretty Storage Box

DIY Decorative Box

I love pretty baskets and storage boxes. Back in December I found this really cute holiday box on clearance and I just had to have it! I’m in a crazy love for burlap phase and I thought this box would look awesome with some brown paper and burlap.

Box and materials

Here are the simple steps:

  • First I covered the sides with the brown wrapping paper I got at The Dollar store. I used Mod Podge Glue (I love this stuff) and with a sponge brush lightly covered the sides and attached the paper one side at a time smoothing it over and then folded it in.
  • I was worried that some of the colors would show through the burlap, so I gave it a light coat of brown just to tone down the colors.
  • I placed the burlap over the box to measure where to cut. The super nice lady at Hobby Lobby gave me a great tip of pulling out one of the strings to create a straight line to follow when cutting burlap.
  • I then covered the top with Mod Podge and attached the burlap. The burlap wasn’t laying as flat as I wanted so I added some hot glue to the edges and that worked better.
  • To cover the seams I added two rows of rope along the bottom.

Decorative box steps

Here is how it turned out:
decorative box closeup

DIY Decorative Box

I hope you like how this turned out! Thanks for stopping by.

Beca

Linking up at these great parties:

DIY Show OffHome Stories A2Z

TitiCrafty by Camila

Liz Marie BlogBlissfully Ever After

About Creative Dominican

Hi There! Thanks for stopping by. I'm Beca and I'm a wife, a mom, a web designer and crafter. I love to create things! It's a way for me to relax and remember my mother who was the most creative and talented person I have ever met. Hugs, Beca

2 responses »

  1. Hi Rebeca! I love your box, amazing job with the burlap!!! Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing this at Bewitch Me & Titi! Hope to have you back tomorrow with more awesome shares!

    Hope you are having a lovely weekend!!!

    Hugs
    Cami @ TitiCrafty by Camila

    Reply
    • Aww thank you sooo much! You just made my day. I had a great weekend, my son graduated High School! I hope you had a great weekend. Thanks so much for taking the time to visit and comment on my box.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

