Brass Lamp Makeover with Mercury Effect and Burlap Shades

We are in the process of finally decorating our bedroom and I wanted some really large lamps with burlap shades, but they are really expensive (insert sad face here). On one of my trips to Goodwill I found these ugly brass lamps that were just the right size and at $5 each I had to have them.
Good will lamps

I wanted a mercury effect and I found several online tutorials on it and I decided that was the way to go. All you need is a spray bottle filled with water and a can of Krylon Glass. The Krylon Glass runs about $11 at Hobby Lobby so make sure to use one of their awesome coupons.

DIY Mercury Lamp and materials

I sprayed the lamp with water (make sure to not over due it), then sprayed it with the Krylon Glass, waited for it to dry a bit and dabbed it with a paper towel.

First coat

It’s hard to tell in the picture above, but you could still see too much brass and I HATE brass so, I decided to dab the lamps with black craft paint using a paper towel and then repeated the first step again. I liked these results much better.

DIY Mercury Lamp

I knew I wanted burlap covered shades, but I wanted something different. Last year I made a burlap wreath to hang from a frame I picked up at Goodwill. I distressed the frame and added a sticker from the $1 Store that says “With God all things are possible”. The inspiration for that project was the Burlap ‘Bubble’ Wreath Tutorial by Today’s Fabulous Find’s which can be found here. Below is a picture of how mine turned out.

Burlap Wreath and Frame

That burlap wreath is one of my favorite DIY projects, so I decided to cover the shades using the same burlap bubble, expect I used hot glue to join the corners and to attach the bubbles to the shade.

Burlap Lamp in Process

And here is how it all looks together!
DIY Mercury Lamp With Burlap Shade

I hope you liked it! Thanks for stopping by.

Beca

Honored and excited to be featured at:

unOriginalMom

You can find my favorite link parties here!

Home Stories A2Z

About Creative Dominican

Hi There! Thanks for stopping by. I'm Beca and I'm a wife, a mom, a web designer and crafter. I love to create things! It's a way for me to relax and remember my mother who was the most creative and talented person I have ever met. Hugs, Beca

13 responses »

  1. Pingback: Faux Mercury Lamps

  2. Wow, I love how the bases turned out, so pretty. Much better then the brass, great job!

    Reply
  3. Hi Rebeca, I’m Christal 🙂 Seen this on Pinterest, this is really cute! I have an ugly….UGLY half brassed lamp in my bedroom that I want to do something creative with and this is very inspiring, Thanks so much for Sharing♥

    Reply
    • Hi Crystal! Thanks so much. I’m glad you liked it and thanks for taking the time to visit my blog and leaving such a nice comment. Good luck with your lamps, come back and share a picture I would love to see how they turn out. Have a great week.

      Reply
  4. Sharon @ Elizabeth & Co.

    What a great finish on your lamp! And that’s a super cute shade too!

    Reply
  5. Love the lampshade. Did you use pins to attach the bubbles to the lampshade? If not, how did you attach the cloth bubbles?

    Reply
  6. Very cute!! Love how they came out- thanks for sharing at Feathered Nest Friday!

    Reply
    • Thank you sooo much Courtney! So glad you liked them. This was a fun project to do because the hubs and the kiddos did not get it when I came home with my awesome Goodwill find. They just saw some ugly lamps.

      Reply
  7. Pingback: Tell Me Tuesday!

  8. Pingback: Tell Me Tuesday unOriginal Mom

Leave a Reply

