Top 5 Reasons Why You’re The Best!

I just love hand made gifts and so does my little guy! Last year we worked together to make this “Top 5 reasons why you are the best” picture for his Dad as a Father’s Day gift. I think it turned out really cute and it was really simple to make. Hubby still has this displayed at his work to this day, in fact I took this picture with my phone when we visited him for lunch during school break.
DIY Fathers day gift

We stared out with a 12 x 12 piece of wood that we picked up at Michael’s for a couple dollars and then we gave it some texture with a sponge brush and some black craft paint (I don’t have a picture of this step sorry).
12 x 12 wood

I let Josh pick out the picture he wanted to use and I just love the one he picked because it truly captures the spirit of their relationship. I printed the titles with the computer and let him cut them out and add some matting behind them. The big circle behind the photo was made by tracing a small plate and the cutting it out.
Use a plate to trace a circle

I cut out a square and wrote the numbers 1 to 5 and had Josh write the 5 reasons why his Dad is the best and matted it with black paper.
5 reasons
For the stand I just took 2 pieces of left over wood from an old project, glued them together with wood glue and had Josh paint it black. For the original I used a little wood finial I had left over from another project and glued it near the edge of the bottom piece to hold the picture in, but you could use a nail or screw for a more rustic look like the one below.
DIY picture stand

Here is another look at the final piece.
DIY Fathers day gift

I hope you enjoyed this simple and cute project. Thanks for stopping by!

Beca

Linking up at these great parties:

52 Mantels TitiCrafty by Camila DIY Show Off

Blissfully Ever After

About Creative Dominican

Hi There! Thanks for stopping by. I'm Beca and I'm a wife, a mom, a web designer and crafter. I love to create things! It's a way for me to relax and remember my mother who was the most creative and talented person I have ever met. Hugs, Beca

6 responses »

  1. Thanks for the great Info tips

    Reply
  2. WOW! What an honor! I’m so excited. Thank you so much Emily. I love your blog.

    Reply

Leave a comment